Product Review: Best fucking jar opener, ever!

I’m doing some reviews of items that have made my life easier, as I’ve had to adjust to having an Ehlers Danlos syndrome body.

I am not being paid nor am I receiving anything for writing this review, but if you click on a product ad and buy an item I get a % at no additional cost to you.

Product Review: Amco Swing-A-Way 711BK Comfort Grip Jar Opener, Black

Amco Swing-A-Way 711BK Comfort Grip Jar Opener, Black


If you want my jar opener, you’ll have to pry the thing out of my cold, dead, weak and ineffective, hands.

Which would probably be easy, actually, since they are weak and sometimes ineffective. But not when I have the Amco Swing-A-Way 711BK Comfort Grip Jar Opener! I’ve owned this for a couple years now and have opened everything from institutional 1 gallon glass jars of dill pickles to those tiny jars of pimentos that you buy for making pimiento cheese sandwiches:

DeLallo Sliced Pimentos, 4-Ounce Glass Jar (Pack of 24)

Yum.

If you’ve never heard of pimiento cheese sandwiches I feel great compassion for you and urge you to make a batch if you can tolerate dairy.

I’ve used those V-shaped jar openers that one mounts under a cabinet. Meh. Try lifting a 15lb glass gallon jar of pickles and opening it like that, when you have a bad shoulder. Those rubber disc type of openers work OK; I’ve tried those as well. But this Amco Swing-A-Way works the best and easiest, that I’ve found.

It requires the same squeezing motion that one uses for operating a gasoline nozzle when filling the car up with gas:

You squeeze the handle and turn, and the jar opens. LOOK AT HOW MIGHTY I AM!

Click to see all my product reviews.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Radish King  On August 3, 2010 at 11:41 pm

    Jilly, also very good is the OXO Goodgrip jar opener. I've had mine for 10 years. It is shaped like a triangle and opens everything from giant pickle jars to tubes of tomato paste.xo

  • BadGlue  On August 4, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    I think my gran had one of those, Rebecca – I forgot about those. :)xo

