Ehlers Danlos & POTS links Feb 11

This story is horrifying: Amanda Trujillo, a nurse in Arizona, was fired for educating a transplant patient about the patient’s post-surgical treatment and on non-surgical options like palliative care. I guess her license was taken away after the surgeon pitched a titty-fit. She was also ordered by the Arizona State Board of Nursing to have a psych evaluation because she participated in social media on the Internet.

I’m not a nurse, obviously, but I was raised by them in a hospital for the first 6 months of my life and have tons of respect and gratitude for them. And as an ill person, I appreciate that nurses like Ms. Trujillo advocate for patients and inform us about treatment choices.

***

I’m having a heck of a time with Vanderbilt Medical Center this week – billing double-charged my debit card for 3 different bills (over $700) and they say it may take up to 4 to 6 weeks to put the money back in my checking account. Plus, I don’t even think I had an EMG in the first place.

I’m disabled & waiting on my SSDI application so $700 is a lot of $$$.

Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

Comments

  • Achelois  On February 12, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Thank you as always for your helpful links. I cannot beleive the mistakes and the charging of your debit card like that. I hope you can survive the massive hit to your card. I wish I could help more than in just words. Take care.

